top of page

走進聯合國,用不同的角度看世界 ── Ann Yoon-Cho (南韓)




Ann Yoon-Cho, 畢業於延世大學,現任於聯合國兒童基金會(UNICEF)南韓委員會。



大學時期最喜歡的課是什麼,給了妳什麼影響呢?

大學時期有三門課對我影響深遠,分別是:《教育心理學》、《韓國的法律與商業》、《全球化背景下視覺文化專題研究》。


首先,我之所以喜歡教育心理學是因為它使我能夠從教育和心理學的角度來理解人類的認知發展。長久以來我都認為,無論是個體或是社會的改良進步,一般都可經由教育及啟蒙這些基本手段得以實現。(即便客觀上來講需要花費較多的時間。)於我而言,學習那些基於不同心理學家關於人類動機和發展階段的理論的教學策略是十分有趣的。


接著,我想講的是韓國的法律與商業這一門課程。之所以認為這門課有趣是因為,它以法律的視角向我介紹了企業界的基本面貌。在這過程中,我學習到有關訂立清晰合約的基本要求,以及許多實際個案分析。這使我認識到,在這二十一世紀中,資本主義國家中的任何職業都需要一個健全的法律基礎。


最後,我想要做分享的是全球化背景下視覺文化專題研究這門課程。我對前兩門課的喜愛,原因比較顯而易見。因為它們提供給我不同的視角來觀察和感知世界。而我對於這一門課的喜歡原因也是如此。我喜歡通過用不同理論去批判文學、流行文化、藝術作品和電影這種方式來訓練自己。這門課改變了我對視覺和文學輸入的一般態度,從一開始的被動學習,到後來的主動汲取並能夠探究其中隱藏的滋擾因素。


能夠為我們進一步地介紹聯合國兒童基金韓國委員會以及妳的工作嗎?

我在聯合國兒童基金會南韓委員會的部門是「支持兒童權利部」,工作內容是確保兒童權利公約(CRC)所規定的兒童權利得到尊重和提升。我們通過監督政府政策,並與其它非營利組織合作,來為更好的政策措施發聲。此外,我們所作的研究,均要求相關領域的專業人員必須擁有高度專注力,研究要基於計畫、執行活動和調查結果,以此來改善現有問題的狀況。


例如,我們曾對南韓兒童娛樂和休閒的權利進行了研究(收錄於兒童權利公約的第三十一篇)。基於研究結果,我們提出了多面向的方法來提高人們對於兒童適當娛樂方面的意識,從而促進更多兒童擁有娛樂的權利。這些工作的要旨都是 「宣導」。


聯合國兒童基金會南韓委員會有三大支柱性目標:籌款,溝通和宣傳。我所負責的(宣導)項目,正日益成為國家委員會職責中十分重要的一環。支持兒童基金會的願景,幫助維護每一個孩子的權利。




可以與我們分享從工作中獲得的特殊經驗嗎?

我想分享與致力於改善兒童權利的市政府辦公人員,以及社會活動家一起工作的經歷。在與他們一起分發和推廣兒童基金會設計的遊戲盒時,我被他們十足的熱情所深深感動,無論是為追求理想時所表現出的孜孜不倦,亦或是當理想與現實難符時所表現出的苦惱。聯合國兒童基金會設計的遊戲盒裡有許多種遊戲實體,因此孩子們可以以多種方式來玩。遊戲實體不應該限制孩子們只以一種特定的方式去玩,而是應該給予他們更多的創造發揮空間。政府官員和社會活動家以共同利益出發,致力於兒童社群權益的發展。而聯合國兒童基金會所設計的遊戲盒子恰在其中發揮重要的媒合作用。我很高興能夠親眼見證到社會上有如此之多的人,渴望奉獻自己的時間來推動社會事業、政府、個人以及非政府組織之間的合作,為公眾利益而工作。由於,我本身對借助「設計溝通」解決社會公眾問題很感興趣。因此,我覺得這是一次與我個人興趣高度吻合的有意義實踐。



妳認為目前的工作算是「學以致用」嗎?而學以致用是找工作時的主要考量嗎?

很多人都說我的現任職業和我大學所學專業-國際關係和政治科學有很大的關聯性,當然我個人也是這麼認為的。我相信通過學習不同國際機構的全球治理方法以及國家之間的動態,都使我對聯合國機構的性質有了更加深刻的瞭解。有助於我在日常實際工作的每一步中,不斷展望聯合國兒童基金會的美好願景。同時,我也感到十分幸運在大學期間有修習幾門國際法的相關課程。因為,現在我所做的正是與各種國際協議相關的工作。


我找工作時最主要的考量是能否做的長久,我所做的事情是否對世界有意義,即便只是一點點的貢獻。基於這兩點考量,我覺得聯合國兒童基金委員會於我而言是一個理想的工作場所。可以說,我喜歡它的每一個方面。因為,我知到我現在所做的每一件事和我想幫助鑄造美好世界的未來願景都是息息相關的。



請問你35歲以前的生活願景是怎麼樣的?

這個問題著實很難回答。事物總是變化的很快,我想我現在所預想的生活應該會與未來真實發生的有很大不同。但總的來說,我希望在35歲前,可以擁有一項自己相關領域的專長(希望可以是設計或是政策相關的)。擁有良好的人際關係,並且結交到能夠尋求幫助,相互扶持的朋友。我想成為一個值得信賴和忠誠的人。而我所期待的生活呢,應該是能夠在職業生涯和志願工作中尋求平衡。當然,我也希望給自己的生活添加些樂趣,像是習得一兩項烹飪或是烘焙的技巧,然後邀請幾位摯友共同享受美好的下午茶時光。




 


Q1. What was your favorite courses in undergraduate?

There were three courses that left a huge impact on my life in my college years.

1)Educational Psychology: This was my favorite course because it gave me the insight to understand human’s cognitive development from the perspective of education and psychology. I always thought that the fundamental (although takes longer time, steadier) solutions to the betterment of individuals as well as the community as a whole can come from education and enlightenment. For me who had this belief, it was very interesting to learn about different teaching tactics based on many psychologists’ theories on human motivation and stages of development.

2)Law and Business in Korea: The second course I want to mention as my favorite is this one. The reason why this course was interesting is because it introduced me to the corporate world in the legal perspective. I got to learn about the requirements of a legible contract and many actual court cases between corporate bodies. It made me realize the importance of having sound legal bases for any kind of work to live in the capitalist country in the 21st century.

3)Special Topics in Visual Culture in the Context of Globalization: This is the last course I want to share. As noticeable from reasons why I chose the previous two courses, I like courses that provide me with a ‘different lens’ to view and make sense of the world. This third course is right on-spot in that regard. I loved training myself with various theories to critique literature, popular culture, artworks and films on my own. It changed my general attitude towards visual and literary inputs from passively taking in without question to more actively engaging and finding hidden nuisance hinted at.



Q2. What’s your profession in job? Please tell us more about Korean committee for UNICEF.

My job at Korean Committee for UNICEF is to support Child Rights Division to make sure children’s rights stipulated in the Convention on the Rights of Child(CRC) are respected and promoted in Korea. We do this through monitoring the government policies and voicing out for better policy measures in collaboration with other non-profit organizations. Also, we run a research with professionals on the areas that require special attention and based on the research outcome, plan and execute campaigns to improve the problematic situation. For example, we conducted a research on children’s rights to play and leisure in Korea (31st article of CRC) and based on the research result, are carrying out various methods to raise awareness about the proper method of playing and facilitating more children to play. All of these works are referred to as ‘advocacy.’ Korean Committee for UNICEF has three-pillar objectives: fundraising, communication and advocacy. What I am responsible for(advocacy) is growing to be a more important part of national committee’s duties to support UNICEF’s vision to work for every child’s rights.



Q3. Any special happened in work you would like to share with us?

I would like to share my experiences working with the borough office and social activists that were interested in improving children’s rights to play. While working with them to distribute and promote UNICEF-designed play box, I was impressed with their passion shown from their tireless aspiration for their ideals and distress shown when their ideals do not match with reality. UNICEF-designed play box was filled with numerous play objects that children can play in ‘multiple ways’ because play objects should ‘ideally’ be not forcing children into playing only a ‘certain way’ but rather open up many possibilities for creative plays. The government people and social activists gathered together in their mutual interest to raise the chances to play in the community and UNICEF-designed play box was the medium. I was excited to see with my own eyes that there were so many people out in the community eager to devote their time to promote a social cause and the dynamics between the government, individuals and NGO to work for a public benefit. Because I was interested in ‘designing communication’ in the community to solve public problems, I felt that this experience was a perfect one to witness the real-life example of my personal interest.





Q4. Is there strong correlation between your job and majors? Is it a primary consideration as you doing job-hunting?

People do say that there is a high correlation between my job and my major which is international relations and political science and I agree so. I believe that learning about the global governance of many international institutions and the inter-state dynamics have given me great insight about the character of UN organizations. This helps me a lot to envision the bigger workings or the vision of UNICEF while working on practical matters on a daily basis. I feel lucky to have taken several courses on international law as well since what I am doing is critically based on various international agreements. The primary consideration in my job-hunting was whether I would be able to do it for a long time and what I am doing is a meaningful addition to the world, even if it is a tiny one. Based upon these two considerations, I felt like UNICEF was an ideal workplace for me and I enjoy every aspect of it because I can feel a great connection between what I am doing now and what I want to do to make world a better place in the future.



Q5. Visions of life before 35?

This is a very difficult question. Things are changing so fast and what I envision my life to be at 35 is likely to be very different from what really happens. I hope that by the age of 35, I have my own area of specialty (hope it could be design or policy). Relationship-wise, I hope I have a dozen I can count on when I need advice and a dozen who count on me for advice. I want to be someone that can be reliable and faithful. I want to lead a life with a well-balance of professional career and volunteering. To add a minor detail to my life, I hope I could have gained cooking or baking skills by then so I can invite over close friends of mine and treat them with great afternoon meal party.



bottom of page