top of page

鼓舞,啟發我的探險勇氣 ── 呂嘉雯 Venus Loi (中國澳門)


居住澳門的呂嘉雯(Venus Loi),畢業於英國杜倫大學(Durham University),主修經濟,目前在Uber澳門分部擔任管理培訓生(Management Trainee, MT)。Venus曾在就讀杜倫大學時擔任TEDxDurhamUniversity的策展人,也曾在TEDxYouth@Bath大會上擔任記者。



選擇就讀杜倫大學,以及主修經濟學的原因是?

在我第一次造訪時,我便能預見將來的我在這個美麗小鎮上生活。那是個鬱悶的一天,但在那時負責帶領我的學伴,讓周遭的氣氛充滿了活力,讓陽光傾瀉在這所大學上。我熱愛杜倫的氛圍、生活條件,以及大學體制。這就是為何我毫無疑慮的選擇了這所大學。


至於我的主修,我一直非常熱愛經濟學,它是一門協助分析大大小小決策的學科。有時經濟學聽起來可能有點複雜難懂,但那些學科常能夠在我思考的時候使我豁然開朗。由於我也是名希望擁有更美好的城市生活的倡導者,學習經濟學有助於我進行批判思考。



妳認為大學生的課業成績與課外活動何者更重要?妳是如何從中取得平衡的呢?

兩者都相當重要。但我個人偏好花較多的時間在課外活動上,因為我有許多實力主要都是從這些活動經驗當中慢慢發展而來的。攝影、溝通能力、領導能力以及團隊合作等等能力,都能透過真實生活經驗來培養。



除了學習教科書的知識之外,大學生如何準備與社會接軌呢?

哈哈!當然是透過在TEDx大會上擔任志願工作者啊!

不開玩笑了,透過在工作中獲得經驗真的幫了我非常多。我也常常遇到許多很酷的人給了我很酷的想法!除了這些以外,我覺得大學生也可以透過更多的旅行並瞭解更多其他不同的人們如何過他們生活,以此來為自己做準備。




妳覺得在海外留學的相對優勢是?在中國與英國的大學的差別在哪裡?

我並沒有實際上在中國的大學學習的經驗,但以我在澳門的高中與英國的相比,能觀察到最明顯的一點絕對是,英國的教師著重於鼓舞學生。而在澳門,小學時由於我的英文能力不太好,因此同樣的課程我得聽上了很多遍,那時我覺得自己真像是個失敗者。周遭的人並沒有提供我任何幫助,他們習慣使用較負面的字句,或者說激將法來「幫助」我。這可能有效,也可能沒有,但這實在不是個很好的回憶。我寧可有個更能鼓舞且給予幫助的學習環境,這能夠幫助我保持平靜並清楚地思考我應該做什麼來讓情形好轉。



你在取得現在的工作之前花了多少時間?你在這段時期間有過許多面試的經驗嗎?

我用了大約四個月來找尋工作,而這個工作(指MT at Uber Macau)從申請到確認錄取花了二到三週左右。我需要進行線上測試以及面對面的訪談。



為何選擇加入Uber澳門的行銷部門?Uber在許多國家都面臨著禁令以及龐大數目的罰金,在澳門的情形如何呢?

當我在求職時,我清楚地知道我想要在私營部門工作,同時又與城市的發展具有關聯。我對一個城市如何運行感到非常有興趣,這就是為何我在更早之前也曾在澳門污水處理廠進行暑期工作。漸漸的我發現我對於人口的流通也感到相當地有興趣,因為這決定了一個城市應該如何去構築(反之亦然)。


事實上,我雖然申請管理培訓生(MT)的職位,但由於我先前的經驗與能力,因此在市場行銷與合夥的部門也發揮了功用。我喜歡與其他人一起工作,並透過點子來與他們產生連結。

就我所知,目前在澳門還尚未有法律來規範Uber。



目前澳門20幾歲青年的情況如何?

嗯...我想我們在這個年齡層大多數的人在生活方面都過的相當的舒適。在澳門,許多人都過著相似的日常生活,我們平日在辦公室或旅館或度假勝地工作,到了週末則與朋友們相見。我們並非生活在世界上最不幸的地方,但也並非是最好的。事實可能是,在這裡我們非常幸運的能夠得到幾乎任何我們所想要的,但在此同時,我覺得我們應該做更多的準備以防萬一。生活不會永遠維持如此的穩定。




可以分享你在TEDxDurhamUniversity擔任策展人以及在TEDxYouth@Bath大會上當記者的經驗嗎?你在TEDx的這段時間得到什麼收穫?

我真的非常享受擔任TEDx家庭中的一份子的日子。而令我領悟最深的一件事是在參加第一次TEDx活動時發生的,那就是如果我真心想去做,沒有什麼是不可能的!這讓我了解到我可以畫一張如我想像一般的圖畫,我可以建造一座如我希望一般的社區,我可以計畫一個如我想要一般的未來;讓我明白不要只是抱怨目前的情況,取而代之的是找到解決的方法。當談及規劃一個TEDx大會時,會經歷非常多的困難,然而,是一個優秀的團隊讓我能夠繼續堅持下去並使我越來越堅強!



對於35歲以前的生活有什麼願景?

我希望我能做些能夠讓我樂在其中的事情,同時又能幫助這個城市成為一個更美好、更適合居住的低方。或許仍然保有我現在的興趣,攝影、旅行,以及划船!



你有任何話想要對澳門的青年說的嗎?

「懷抱更大的夢想–世界便是你的囊中之物。」


 


What made you choose to study in Durham University and the department?

I can see myself living the this pretty little small town during my first visit. It was a gloomy day but the energetic vibes from the student assistance at that time managed had shed a light to this University. I love the vibe and the opportunities in Durham as well as the collegiate system. That's why I have chosen this University with no doubt.

As for my major, I have always been fond of Economics and it's theories which helps to analyse big and small decisions. It may sound a bit complicated at times, but those theories stick at the back of my head when I think. Since I am also an advocate for better city life, studying economics helps me to think critically.


​How long did you spend before acquiring current job? Did you experience many interviews during this period (for others or Uber Macau)?

Well, I have been searching for jobs for about 4 months, but this job takes around 2-3 weeks from application to confirmation. I had to take an online test as well as a face-to-face interview.


Why did you choose to join department of marketing in Uber Macau?

When I was job hunting, I knew clearly that I want to work in the private sector whilst it is something related to the city's development. I had great curiosity in how a city functions and that's why I have also taken up a summer job previously in the Macau Waste Water Treatment Plant. Slowly I found that I am quite interested in the movement of people too as it determines how a city should be build (or vice versa).

I actually applied for the Management Trainee (MT) position but was given the role in Marketing and Partnership sector because of my previous experience and strength. I like working with people and connecting them with ideas.


Uber faces bans or tremendous fine in many countries. What’s situation in Macau?

There is currently no law to regulate Uber in Macau as far as I know. (I am probably not the best person to speak on behalf of Uber so please don't quote me :P )


Visions in life before 35?

I wish I could be doing something I enjoy, while helping the city to become a better place to live in. Probably still maintaining my current hobbies on photography, travelling and rowing too!


Which do you consider more important for college students, class performance or extracurricular activities? How did you get the balance between them?

I should probably say both are important, but I’d personally prefer to spend more time on extracurricular activities as my strengths are mainly developed through those activities. Abilities such as photography, communication, leadership, team-working, etc. are best developed through real life experience.


In addition to the knowledge learning from text books, how can college students prepare themselves in advance to connect the society?

Haha surely through volunteering at a TEDx conference! No jokes it helped me so much with gaining experiences in work. I’ve also got to meet many cool people who gave me cool ideas! Besides this, I think college students can also get prepared by travelling more and see more about how different people live.


What are the relative advantages of studying aboard? What’s the different between colleges in China and England?(studying atmosphere, the way of teaching, etc)

I haven’t actually studied in colleges in China, but by comparing my high school in Macau between the one in England, one of the most obvious observation is definitely how encouraging teachers were in the UK. In Macau, I had repeated class in primary school due to my English ability, I felt like a failure at that time. People around me didn’t show a lot of support, they tend to say bad things to me and hope that it will encourage me to do better. It may or may not have worked, but it was not a good memory. I’d much rather prefer a more encouraging and supportive study environment which helps me to keep calm and think clearly what I should be doing to make the situation better.



What are the current situation of 20s in Macau?

Hmm… I guess most of us at this age are quite comfortable in terms of living. Many people live in similar routines in Macau, we work in offices or hotels or resorts during weekdays, meet friends over the weekends. We are not at the most unfortunately place in the world, but also not the best place. It might be true that we are quite lucky to be able to get almost anything we want here, but at the same time I feel like we should be more prepared in case life won’t remain this stable forever.


TEDx Could you share more experience of being the Curator for TEDxDurhamUniversity and a Reporter at TEDxYouth@Bath? What did you learn or gain during the period in TEDx?

I really enjoy being part of the TEDx family. One thing strikes me the most from joining the first TEDx event is that nothing in impossible if I truly want it! It taught me that I can paint a picture just like I imagined, I can build a community just as I wish, I can plan my own future just as I wanted it to be. It taught me not to just blame at the current situation but instead find a way to work around it. There were many difficulties when it comes to organising a TEDx conference. However, a good team is what keeps me going and going strong!


Do you have any words want to tell to teenagers in Macau?

To dream bigger – the world is your oyster!






bottom of page